You are here

Stay Gold (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Stay Gold By Tobly McSmith Cover Image
$10.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Pony is tired of being known as "the trans kid". When his family relocates in time for senior year, he's more than ready to be seen as the average boy at his new school. Here he locks eyes with Georgia, a cheerleader who's grown tired of popular kid antics, harboring secret dreams of being a writer. Their chemistry is undeniable, but Pony knows he needs to tell her about himself soon if they're going to date. I cannot begin to summarize what this book meant to me-- I devoured it. I'm so thrilled and relieved it exists for the teens of today and tomorrow. Stay Gold is inspiring, empowering, notably humorous, and wonderfully sweet.

— From Andrew

Description


Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony plans to fly under the radar this year. Tired of getting too much attention at his old school after coming out as transgender, he’s hoping for a fresh start as a Hillcrest High senior. But it’s hard to live your best life with the threat of exposure lurking around every corner.

Georgia is beginning to think there’s more to life than cheerleading. She just wants to keep a low profile until graduation . . . which is why she promised herself that dating is a nonstarter for the foreseeable future.

Then, on the very first day of classes, the new guy and the cheerleader lock eyes…

In this moving, honest debut from Tobly McSmith, one transformative relationship opens the eyes of a whole town—and opens the door for Pony and Georgia to celebrate their truths, even when it feels hard.


About the Author


Tobly McSmith is the co-creator/writer of seven somewhat successful musical parodies, including Friends! The Musical Parody. Tobly was born in Texas. He now lives in New York City with his two cats, Buster and Bananas McSmith. Tobly is proud to be transgender.

Praise For…


“A necessary read that favors compassion and understanding.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

"A rom-com with heart and purpose." — Publishers Weekly

"[A] compelling #OwnVoices story that is populated by sympathetic characters." — Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062943187
ISBN-10: 0062943189
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: August 3rd, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English