Store Info

We are accepting and processing orders via this website, email, and phone. 

(Please wait until we reply to you that your order is ready to pick up before you show up at the shop!)

Front-door pick up for pre-paid orders: 

Tues and Thurs 2-6

Mon, Wed, and Fri 11-2

Sat and Sun 11-3

Directions

Gift Cards

Click to order a gift certificate for use in-store when we re-open. We'll mail them to you now and look forward to seeing you soon!

Greeting Cards

 

You can now order cards via email! Click here for more details.

Donate Now

Things in Jars (Compact Disc)

Things in Jars Cover Image
By Jess Kidd, Jacqueline Milne (Read by)
$39.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

February 2020 Indie Next List


“Set in Victorian England, Things in Jars feels like a Sherlock Holmes story, if Holmes had been a woman. You can’t help but love Bridie Devine, a strong-willed, chain-smoking woman who has clawed her way from life as an orphaned thief to a highly sought-after detective often consulted by Scotland Yard. Bridie’s newest case, though, is proving difficult and incredibly strange. Not only will it force her to confront someone from her past who she thought was dead, she’ll also team up with an actual ghost as she solves a fantastical crime. Highly imaginative, Things in Jars is a fun and immersive read.”
— Jamie Southern, Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC

Description


"Miraculous and thrilling...A few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written." --Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River "A perfect mix of hilarity, the macabre, and a touch of romance, Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining, all as it sneaks up and makes you feel things...Simply: Jess Kidd is so good it isn't fair." --Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery--perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.Bridie Devine--female detective extraordinaire--is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery. Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won't rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she'd rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems. Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781508299493
ISBN-10: 1508299498
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 4th, 2020
Language: English
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.