The Paris Library: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Paris Library: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


I knew little of the wonderful American Library in Paris before reading this excellent novel. Odile, young in Paris in 1939 and Lily, a teenager in Froid, MT bracket a timeless story of heroism and the power of literature to unite. Another terrific entry in the WWII cannon.

— From Christy

Description


Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

About the Author


Janet Skeslien Charles is the award-winning author of Moonlight in Odessa, which was published in ten languages. Her shorter work has appeared in revues such as Slice and Montana Noir. Janet first became interested in the incredible true story of the librarians who stood up to the Nazi “Book Protector” when she worked as the program’s manager at the American Library in Paris. Her novel The Paris Library will be published in seventeen countries. She divides her time between Montana and Paris. Visit her at JSkeslienCharles.com or connect with her on Twitter @skesliencharles.

Praise For…


“As a Parisian, an ardent bookworm, and a longtime fan of the American Library in Paris, I devoured The Paris Library in one hungry gulp. It is charming and moving, with a perfect balance between history and fiction.”
— Tatiana de Rosnay, New York Times bestselling author of Sarah's Key

“A fresh take on WWII France that will appeal to bibliophiles everywhere. I fell in love with Odile and Lily, with their struggles and triumphs, from the very first page. Meticulously researched, The Paris Library is an irresistible, compelling read.”
— Fiona Davis, national bestselling author of The Chelsea Girls

“The Paris Library is a refreshing novel that celebrates libraries as cradles of community, especially when we need them the most. It shows how literature can be a means of escape, a catalyst for human connection, and a moral center in grim times. A thoroughly enjoyable read, kind-hearted and brimming with delightful bookish allusions.”
— Matthew Sullivan, author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore

"Intelligent and sensuously rich....A novel tailor-made for those who cherish books and libraries."
— Kirkus Reviews

"A love letter to Paris, the power of books, and the beauty of intergenerational friendship."
— Booklist

"Delightful...richly detailed...Historical fiction fans will be drawn to the realistic narrative and the bond of friendship forged between a widow and a lonely young girl."
— Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781982134198
ISBN-10: 1982134194
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2021
Pages: 368
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.